(p.s. I grabbed this photo off IMDB - if it's copyrighted, let me know, I'll take it down)Wow. Best. Show. Ever.

So, I just watched the season finale of The Shield last night, and I must admit that it was some of the best written, acted, and produced drama I’ve ever seen. Damn.

Let me also preface this blog by saying that I don’t normally watch TV. Rarely do I have the time, and I’m an internet junkie, so anything less than completely interactive rarely holds my attention. That said, I actually purchased a cable TV package just so I could watch The Shield this season. The show is that good. (Although, FX, why don’t you broadcast it in HD? That would be my only gripe.)

Anyway, last night’s episode wrapped up a season long arc about the bad boys (Strike team) paying for their sins, and trying desperately to avoid that payment. Forrest Whittaker plays a damn good role in this season as the obsessed and somewhat evil (depending on the perspective) Internal Affairs agent chasing after Vic and his team with great vengance and furious anger. Strange to me to see an actor such as him playing such a badass, since the last movie I remember seeing him in was Phenomenon, where he played a sweet ham radio operator who had an affection for Diana Ross. Heh. Whittaker’s character drives all the members of the strike team to the edge of their wits and eventually forces Lem to turn himself in for jail time.

I’d rather not give away the ending of the show, since some of my friends haven’t seen it yet, but I will say that I am thoroughly impressed with the range and depth of the actors and their portrayals of these anti-heroes. Makes me love the “bad guys” (Strike team), hate the good guys (Internal Affairs), and question the validity of each side’s motives. Couldn’t think of a better story/plot/character development if I tried. 🙂

