So… I’m in the process of porting my WordPress.com blog to my own domain, since, I already pay for one, and I’ve heard that the WordPress.org install on your own server is *much* more extensible than WordPress.com.

Thus far, the only snag I’ve run in to is trying to get the video posting to work. On WordPress.com, all you need to do is type youtube=<url> (with brackets around it, but if I actually did that here, it would embed an empty video).

I found a posting on wordpress.org support with a suggestion on how to post, and thought I’d link to it for my (and your) future reference:

To insert YouTube videos in your WordPress blog do the following:

1. Login to WordPress admin
2. Go to Options >> Writing
3. Uncheck borht Users should use the visual rich editor by default & WordPress should correct invalidly nested XHTML automatically
4. Go to Write >> Write Post
5. Paste the ’embeddable player’ code for your YouTube video in the write box
6. Publish video

That’s all there is to it!

http://wordpress.org/support/topic/53570

