I’ve been a huge fan of Hunter S. Thompson since my college days, and love stumbling upon his quotes from time to time. Here are a few I found off IMDB when reading about information on the new movie based on his work “The Rum Diary

“Freedom is something that dies unless it’s used.”

“We are turning into a nation of whimpering slaves to Fear — fear of war, fear of poverty, fear of random terrorism, fear of getting down-sized or fired because of the plunging economy, fear of getting evicted for bad debts, or suddenly getting locked up in a military detention camp on vague charges of being a Terrorist sympathizer.”

“If you’re going to be crazy, you have to get paid for it or else you’re going to be locked up.”

“I have a theory that the truth is never told between 9-5 business hours.”

“Morality is temporary, wisdom is permanent.”

“When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro.”

“It never got weird enough for me.”

“No one is stealing our freedoms, we’re dealing them away.”

“Some may never live, but the crazy never die.”

And, my new favorite:

“The world is still a weird place, despite my efforts to make clear and perfect sense of it.”

